Harry’s questions Feb. 13 & Mar. 1

Feb. 13 email to Bob and Jacklyn:

I just walked around and took a look at much of the stucco work going on in the project.

I was one of several homeowners who spent a lot of time and effort in meetings with
Mark Vanderslice and Hal Fremer between 2006 and 2009.

Vanderslice emphasized the importance of careful stucco work around windows, new
flashing, and patches.   Due to his emphasis, I studied the subject and found this reference:

http://www.amazon.com/Builders-Guide-Stucco-Lath-Plaster/dp/1889892726/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

My concern is that the preparation of the work at WCP doesn’t seem to follow the
recommendations on pages 137-139 of that book (attached). The main thing is that the  stepped
and bevelled stucco removal in Figure 9-1 doesn’t appear to be followed.

I’m quite concerned, given the history at WCP of flaws in the early work coming back many years later (after all warrantees have expired, and when costs to fix are exorbitant).  Sorry if I annoy you, but we had a very unfortunate experience here, and so I tend to doubt expert advice and double check it.

March 1 follow-up

Is there any progress on addressing my concern?  I have heard that Vanderslice sent some sort of reply… it would be great if I could get a copy.

I noticed two other issues:

1) The sto-flexyl is covering the weep screeds on two units I looked at.  Will the weep screeds be opened again?

2) There seems to be no sheet metal accessory where the low patio walls join the main unit wall.  In many cases in the complex, cracks opened up there and rot began… again, subject of long discussions with Fremer 5 years ago.  Will the current project omit a fix for that problem?

Note March 7 by Harold: I think Harry will be at a scheduled meeting with Vanderslice.

About hmarcuse

I've been an environmentalist since my college days in the 1970s (May 1977 Seabrook, New Hampshire occupation) , and am now a professor of German history at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Harry’s questions Feb. 13 & Mar. 1

  1. Harry Nelson says:

    Thanks Harold… here is an update… as for the stucco work, the heart of the matter is that the Sto-Flexyl representative says the stucco work is consistent with their requirements, and they will warranty the work. I’ve asked for copies of their technical requirements and their warranty. I hope to get those copies soon. After getting those I the Board has suggested I talk to Vanderslice directly if I need to; I may well be happy with the Sto-Flexyl technical requirements and warranty.

    As for the weep screeds… the Board asked me for more documentation, which I sent them. I also sent more documentation of the wall cracks that were going to be addressed in this fix.

Leave a Reply

